Inaugural Outdoor Education Awards 2021 Winners

Inaugural Outdoor Education Awards 2021 Winners

Outdoor Education Australia honoured 13 individual and one outstanding organisation in its augural Outdoor Education Awards announced at the NOEC2021 Precursor Event in late September 2021.


The awards across four categories honoured inspirational and transformative Australian Outdoor Ed programs and educators, a main prize for Outdoor Education Program of the year made possible by the generous support of our Foundation Partner, Wilderness Equipment.

In what has been a challenging 18 months for the outdoor education sector, the awards provided a positive and uplifting focal point by focusing on an celebrating the great contributions of many individuals over many years, said chair of Outdoor Education, Peter McKenna. They have reaffirmed the value of Outdoor Education and passion and dedication of many – not just our 2021 winners.

Congratulations to our Inaugural OEA Award Winners

Outdoor Education Program – The Alice Sloan Expedition.

The Alice Sloan Expedition is a 10-day expedition for young women (going into Year 11) from regional Victoria (Alexandra/ Eildon area). Running since 2007, it is named in honour of a 16 year old girl who lost her life when a tree fell on her tent during an Outdoor Education Group program in 2005. The Alice Sloan Expedition has been recently independently evaluated by Victoria
University. This evaluation explored the lived experiences of women who participated in the program. he findings indicate that program participation led to perceptions of enhanced empowerment and leadership, and a sense of community, which all contributed positively to personal outcomes.

Outdoor Education Practitioner – Helene de Lagillardaie from Outward Bound Australia.
Helene has made an outstanding contribution to her OBA, stepping up into a leadership role to help the organisation survive through Covid-19 and also being considered one of the best instructors OBA has had in its 60 year history.
OEA Program of the Year Award

Service to Outdoor Education
This award recognises the contribution and efforts of an individual or organisation to the advancement of Outdoor Education. There were five worthy recipients.

    1. Dan McNamara, ACT
    2. Peter Blunt, ACT
    3. Elizabeth Horne, NSW
    4. Phil Harrison, QLD
    5. Mike Meredith, South Australia.

OEA Fellow
One of the highest honours that OEA can bestow, Fellowship of Outdoor Education Australia honours exemplary contribution above and beyond any paid professional role. It is made visible by the use of the post-nominal FOEA.
In recognition of decades of leadership and service, Fellowship was conferred to seven outstanding individuals.

  1. Dr Ian Boyle FOEA, NSW
  2. Professor Tonia Gray FOEA, NSW
  3. Margot Hurrell FOEA, ACT
  4. Scott Polley FOEA, SA
  5. Peter Martin FOEA, VIC
  6. Jackie Kiewa FOEA, QLD
  7. Glyn Thomas FOEA, QLD

Further details on our Fellows can be found HERE.

Further details on our other inaugural Award Winners can be found HERE.